Yoga Student Guidelines

1. Amihsa: non-harming/non-violence

Practice: Compassion, empathy, love, understanding, patience, self-love and respect, Care and respect for all sentient beings, including the Earth.


2. Satya: truthfulness

Practice: honesty, own your feelings, be honest with yourself. Communicate from a place of love and clarity, assertiveness when needed, let go of masks/false posturing/pretense.  Be real.


3. Asteya: non-stealing of time or property

Practice: Be respectful of other people's time, ideas, energy, property and belongings.


4. Brahmacharya: energy moderation

Practice: listen to your body. Work smarter not harder, all things in moderation. Learn to conserve energy. Know your limits & set energetic boundaries. From this space, create vitality & productive energy.


5. Aparigraha: non-attachment/non-greed

Practice: "Act for the action's sake"~ Bhaga Vhad Gita, without attachment to the end result. Allow your movements & breathing to let prana (life force) move through you. As the prana circulates through your body, it will burn through stored emotions, false-beliefs and fears.


6. Saucha: purity/cleanliness

Practice: evenness of mind, thoughts, speech & critical discernment. Purity of body, cleanliness, good health habits, a clear and orderly environment. 


7. Santosha: contentment

Practice: gratitude and joyfulness; remain calm with success or failure. This state of mind does not depend on any external status.


8. Tapas: right effort

Practice: determination to pursue daily practices, making sacrifices as necessary, enthusiasm for the spiritual path. Joyfulness with outer discipline will lead to inner discipline.


9. Svadhyaya: self-study

Practice: self-observation & reflection, meditation, wanting to know the Truth.


10. Ishvara Pranidhana: dedication to a higher power/Grace

Practice: faith, dedication, sincerity, and patience to transcend the ego, which is resistant to surrender.